RSS Print Email Share Text Size  A A A
Home * About A*STAR * Biomedical Research Council * Biomedical Sciences International Advisory Council * Dr Anthony Pawson

Dr Anthony Pawson

Member, BMS IAC (2006-)
Distinguished Investigator, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute of Mount Sinai Hospital (1985-)


Tony Pawson received an MA in Biochemistry from the University of Cambridge, England. He did his graduate training at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London, working with Alan Smith on the expression of retroviral gene products, and received his Ph.D. in 1976 from King’s College, University of London. From 1976-1980 he pursued postdoctoral work at the University of California at Berkeley, with Peter Duesberg and Steven Martin, investigating the biochemical functions of retroviral oncogenes and their role in neoplastic cell transformation. In 1981, he took up a position as an Assistant Professor at the University of British Columbia, and in 1985 moved to the Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute of Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto.

He is a Professor in the Department of Medical Genetics and Micobiology at the University of Toronto, and a University Professor of the University of Toronto. Dr. Pawson is a Distinguished Scientist of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, holds the Apotex Chair in Molecular Oncology, and is an International Research Scholar of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

He has received a number of awards, including the Gairdner Foundation International Award (1994), the Robert L. Noble Prize from the National Cancer Institute of Canada (1995), the George Drummond Memorial Award (1996), the Boehringer-Mannheim Prize (1997), the Henry Friesen Award (1998), the AACR-Pezcoller International Award for Cancer Research (1998), the Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1998), the Killam Prize for Medicine (2000), the J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine (2000), the Prix Galien Canada (2002), the Michael Smith Prize in Health Research (2002), the Premier’s Platinum Medal for Research Excellence (2002), elected Associate Member, EMBO (2003), Poulsson Medal from the Norwegian Society of Pharmacology and Toxicology (2004), elected Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences (US) (2004), elected Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2004), elected Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology (2004), the Ernst W. Bertner Memorial Award from the MD Anderson Cancer Center (2004), Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize (2004), Special Achievement Award from the University of Miami (2005), Wolf Prize in Medicine (2005), The Royal Medal from The Royal Society of London (2005), elected Honorary Member, Japanese Biochemical Society (2005), Daniel Nathans’ Memorial Award (2005), Inducted to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (2006), appointed to the Order of Companions of Honour by Queen Elizabeth II (2006), The Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship Award (2007), The Jubilee Lecture Award from The Biochemical Society, U.K. (2007), Howard Taylor Ricketts Award (2007), Premier’s Summit Award for Medical Research (2007), Diamond Jubilee Award from the National Cancer Institute of Canada (2007), Doctor of Science. Honorary degree from the University of Alberta (2008), The Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences (2008). He is a Fellow of the Royal Societies of London and Canada, and a recipient of the Order of Canada.

Back To Top

Last Updated On 25 September 2009

Related Information  
Photo and Video Gallery
Quick Links

A*STAR Cloud