2016 President’s Science and Technology Awards

I congratulate the winners of the 2016 President’s Science and Technology Awards on their achievements and contributions to scientific research and development in Singapore. Their commitment in the pursuit of scientific excellence has led to impactful discoveries and innovations which will improve lives and create new economic opportunities.

The winner of this year’s President’s Science and Technology Medal is Professor Bertil Andersson. Professor Andersson has played an instrumental role in advancing academic excellence and building the R&D ecosystem in Singapore. He led the transformation of the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) into a research-intensive, globally-renowned university. Under his able leadership, NTU has scaled new peaks of excellence to rank among the top institutions in the world. Today, NTU is well-recognised for both its academic research excellence and industry collaborations. In the latest QS “Top 50 under 50” rankings, the university is ranked first amongst the world’s best young universities. NTU has forged deep research ties with the local and international R&D communities, creating partnerships between academic institutions and the public and private sectors. These collaborative efforts have not only developed innovation capabilities in the institutions, but also nurtured young researchers and brought benefits to society. Professor Andersson has also been an excellent ambassador for the Singapore research community and contributed significantly to Singapore’s reputation as a world class research hub.

R&D is critical to Singapore’s development. Singapore is committed to sustaining its steady investments in R&D to create innovative solutions for the benefit of current and future generations. We will continue to nurture a conducive environment for research, innovation, and enterprise to spur our scientists and engineers to further the frontiers of discovery and build a thriving Research and Innovation hub in Singapore.

Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam
Republic of Singapore