12 April 2011

Three research scientists and engineers (RSEs) from the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) received the inaugural T-Up Excellence Award 2011 from Senior Minister of State for Trade & Industry and Education, Mr S. Iswaran, at the GET-Up Ceremony 2011. They were Dr An Chengwu, Mr Raymond Lim and Dr Ronnie Teo. These three RSEs were recognized for their outstanding contributions in upgrading the R&D capabilities of the local companies they were seconded to under the T-Up programme, which have led to significant outcomes such as the development of innovative new products or an increase in annual turnover for their companies. The winners each won a cash prize of $1,000.

Mr. Raymond Lim Shoa Siong, a research scientist from A*STAR Institute of Microelectronics (IME) was attached to Advanpack Solutions (APS) Pte Ltd for two years from 2007 to 2009. His research and expertise in semiconductor packaging has contributed to APS's new technology development and generated new business opportunities by providing attractive packaging solutions to the industry in terms of lower cost and better performance.

While with APS, Raymond worked on a proprietary technology called the “Micro Molded Interconnect Substrate” (μMIS). It is used in semiconductor packaging and potentially lowers the packaging cost by as much as 30% due to its unique fine line/space feature of up to 25/35um. One patent related to μMIS manufacturing method was granted in US in Sept 2010.

In 2008, the μMIS technology attracted interest from a company in China and resulted in a total investment of 6.5 million into APS including technology transfer and licensing. The Chinese company has since invested more than $13 million into setting up a manufacturing plant in China.

The μMIS technology has since gained very favourable responses from the industry and will help APS to propel to the next level of growth by increasing the revenue of the company by more than 10 times. The forecast revenue from the sales and licensing of the μMIS technology is at $5 million in 2011 and increases to $50 million in 2015.

On behalf of IME, congratulations to Raymond for winning this award.