Professor Yeoh Lean Weng

Prof Yeoh Lean Weng

Chief Sustainability Officer, A*STAR
Executive Committee Member, Institute of Sustainability for Chemicals, Energy and Environment (ISCE²)
Senior Director, Urban Solutions and Sustainability, National Research Foundation (NRF)

Prof Yeoh Lean Weng is Chief Sustainability Officer at A*STAR, Executive Committee Member of the Institute of Sustainability for Chemicals, Energy and Environment (ISCE²) and Senior Director of Urban Solutions and Sustainability at the National Research Foundation (NRF). As Senior Director, Prof Yeoh is responsible for developing R&D strategy and managing Singapore’s national R&D programmes in urban systems to meet national needs in areas such as energy, water, and land & livability. As Chief Sustainability Officer, Prof Yeoh directs the R&D in energy and environmental sustainability focusing on decarbonisation and sustainable green materials and processes.

Prof Yeoh received his Bachelor of Science (with Honours) and Master of Science degrees from the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1983 and 1987 respectively. He further obtained two Masters (with distinction) in 1990 and a PhD degree in Electrical Engineering in 1997 from the Naval Postgraduate School (NPS). He attended the Program for Management Development at Harvard University in 2003.

Prof Yeoh is active in the Singapore engineering professional and academic circles. He is Immediate Past President of the Institution of Engineers(IES), Chairman of IES Awards Committee, President of IES from 2018 to 2020, President of the INCOSE Singapore Chapter from 2009 to 2011, Deputy President of IES from 2017 to 2018 and Vice President of IES from 2014 to 2017. He has co-authored numerous professional publications. He is a Fellow of INCOSE, the first fellow in Singapore. He is concurrently an adjunct professor with NUS. He is a member of the PUB Water Technology Advisory Panel (WTAP), and Energy Studies Institute.

Prof Yeoh was a recipient of the Singapore Public Administration Medal in 2001 (Bronze) and 2008 (Silver). He was conferred the Defence Technology Prize in 1992, 2004 and 2007, the last of which was an individual award for C4I development, large scale systems engineering and technology leadership.