1 October 2010

Four IME researchers (from left, in picture,  Dr Jason Liow Tsung-Yang, Dr Ang Kah Wee, Dr Patrick Lo and Dr Yu Mingbin) were bestowed President's Technology Award, the highest national awards conferred on exceptional individuals and teams for their excellent achievements in science and technology, and their outstanding contributions to the R&D landscape in Singapore.

Led by Dr Patrick Lo, the team have developed a suite of compact silicon photonic devices that will enable data transmission that is ultra fast and consume very little power. Bell Labs, NEC, Fujikura, PhotonIC and Light-wire are among the industry partners that are leveraging on IME's silicon photonics technology to accelerate towards the next generation platform. The award recognized their outstanding contributions in advancing Singapore's semiconductor technology and industry development through cutting edge research on silicon photonics.