7 December 2009

Dr. Kah-Wee Ang, previously a PhD student attached to IME has been awarded the Electron Devices Society's (EDS) 2008 Paul Rappaport Award for the paper titled, "Strained n-MOSFET with Embedded Source/Drain Stressors and Strain- Transfer Structure (STS) for Enhanced Transistor Performance". The research work, a joint collaboration with the National University of Singapore (NUS), was experimented in IME with members, also co-authors from IME and NUS, Jian Qiang Lin, Ganesh S. Samundra, Chih-Hang Tung, Narayanan Balasubramanian and Yee-Chia Yeo. Dr. Kah-Wee Ang is currently a researcher at A*STAR's Institute of Microelectronics (IME).

The award, established since 1984, honors the author(s) of the best paper that has appeared in an EDS publication in the preceding calendar year. Dr. Ang's paper was among 350 articles published in Transactions on Electron Devices in 2008 and the selection is a strong endorsement of the quality of his work.

In his paper, Dr. Ang established the integration of multiple stressors scheme to overcome limitations associated with diminished device performance arising from aggressive pitch scaling. The work demonstrated a novel device heterostructure which embeds a silicon-germanium strain-transfer structure (STS) beneath the Si channel to couple additional strain from the lattice mismatched S/D stressors for electron mobility enhancement. Further optimization of device design parameters drove current and mobility up by 40% and 78% respectively. Such enhancement is equivalent to scaling the speed of CMOS logic circuit ahead of the technology generation.

The award was presented at the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) held at Baltimore, MD, USA on 7 December 2009.