Workshop on Nanophotonics

Date: 30 Jun 2009 - 30 Jun 2009

Venue: SIMTech Training Rooms 1& 2, Tower Block, Level 3

With the advent of nanofabrication techniques and nano-imaging tools, more and more research efforts are directed towards investigating the optical properties of nanoscale metallic structures. These nanostructure metals are able to manipulate light with sub-wavelength scale, which leads to a new field of study called Plasmonics. This one day workshop will serve as an introductory course, and give useful insight into the most recent developments of nanophotonics, particularly in the area of plasmonics. Key topics include:
- Bulk plasmons
- Confined plasmons in metallic nanoparticles
- Surface plasmons (dispersion, propagation, prism and grating coupling, losses) and waveguide
- Surface plasmons devices and applications (optical antennas, collimators, modulator, filler, near-field microscope, surface enhance Raman scattering)

About the Speaker
Renowned Professor Federico Capasso received his PhD in Physics, summa cum laude, from the University of Rome in 1973. After completing his research in fibre optics at Fondazione Bordoni in Rome, he joined Bell Labs in 1976. In 1984, he was made a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff and in 1997 a Bell Labs Fellow. He holds an honorary doctorate in Electronics Engineering from the University of Bologna, Italy.

In addition to his research commitments, Professor Capasso has held several management positions at Bell Labs including Head of the Quantum Phenomena and Device Research Department and the Semiconductor Physics Research Department (1987-2000) and Vice President of Physical Research (2000-2002). Professor Capasso is an academic member of Harvard University since 1 January 2003. Professor Capasso is internationally well known for his pioneering research work on bandstructure engineering of artificially structured semiconductors and devices, which has opened up new directions in materials research, mesoscopic physics, photonics, electronics, and nanotechnology. Together with his collaborators, they invented and developed the quantum cascade laser, a fundamentally new light source, which is now commercialised, and has potentially wide ranging applications to trace gas analysis and chemical sensing (atmospheric chemistry, combustion diagnostics, pollution monitoring, industrial process control, medical diagnostics, homeland security) and telecommunications. 

His current research in quantum electronics deals with the design of new light sources based on giant optical nonlinearities in quantum wells such as Raman injection lasers, inversioless injection lasers and widely tunable sources of TeraHertz radiation based on difference frequency generation and Raman lasers. He has also carried out research on quantum chaos in deformed microlasers, which led him and his collaborators to invent microlasers operating on bow-tie modes. More recently his research has expanded to high-precision measurements of Casmir forces using MEMS (MicroElectroMechanicalSystems) and other quantum electrodynamical effects such as the torque between birefringent materials due to vacuum fluctuations. 

His professional affiliations include membership in the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, The European Academy of Sciences and honorary membership in the Franklin Institute. Professor Capasso has been awarded numerous accolades, most notably in 2005 he received, jointly with Nobel Laureate Frank Wilczek (MIT) and Anton Zeilinger (University of Vienna), the prestigious King Faisal International Prize for Science for his research on quantum cascade lasers. The citation called him “one of the most creative and influential physicists in the world”. On behalf of the American Physical Society, he was awarded the 2004 Arthur L Schawlow Prize in Laser Science endowed by the NEC Corporation for "seminal contributions to the invention and demonstration of the quantum cascade laser and the elucidation of its physics, which bridges quantum electronics, solid-state physics, and materials science." 

In recognition of his achievements, the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) named Capasso the recipient of the 2004 IEEE Edison Medal with the following citation, "For a career of highly creative and influential contributions to heterostructure devices and materials." He is also the recipient of numerous accolades, including the Wetherill Medal of the Franklin Institute, the R. W. Wood prize of the Optical Society of America, the IEEE Laser and Electro-Optics Society W. Streifer Award for Scientific Achievement, the Materials Research Society Medal, the Rank Prize in Optoelectronics (UK), the Duddell Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics (UK), The Willis Lamb Medal for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, the Newcomb Cleveland Prize of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Moet Hennessy and Lois Vuitton "Leonardo da Vinci" Prize (France), the Welker Memorial Medal (Germany), the New York Academy of Sciences Award, the IEEE David Sarnoff Award in Electronics, and the Goff Smith prize of the University of Michigan. He received the Bell Labs Fellow and the Bell Labs Distinguished Member of Technical Staff Awards. A Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Optical Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, IEEE and SPIE, Professor Capasso has co-authored over 300 papers, edited four volumes; and holds over 50 US patents. 







NanophotonicsPart I: Quantum Cascade Lasers




Nanophotonics Part II: Far-field and Near-field Engineering of Light Sources Using Plasmonics




Nanophotonics Part III: Forces out of Nothing: Vacuum Fluctuations, Quantum Levitation and the Future of Nanomachines





Who Should Attend
A*STAR researchers and scientists, industry professionals, engineers, R&D managers, academic professionals and engineering students.

Pre-registration for the workshop is necessary. Seats are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Free seats are available for A*STAR research staff and limited to 10 students currently pursuing a PhD. As seats available are limited, do register early to avoid disappointment.

Registration Fee (inclusive of 7%)
SMS Member: S$80.00 (limited to 20 SMS members)
Non-SMS Member: S$100.00
Payment by cheque should be crossed and made payable to "Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology".

For technical enquiries: 
Dr Kok Shaw Wei, Email:

For general enquiries: 
Alice Koh, Email: