Technology Lecture on Adaptive Self-Organisation, Navigation, and Sampling for Mobile Wireless Sensor Networks

Date: 13 May 2009 - 13 May 2009

Venue: Auditorium, Level 3, SIMTech Tower Block

Wireless sensor networks (WSN) may consist of heterogeneous nodes, including mobile units, fixed ground sensors, and human user nodes.  WSN should be deployable and quickly programmable with multiple missions for security assessment and event alarm capability.  A WSN is a distributed computing grid that should be as easy to program as a laptop PC.  WSN should have certain self-organising and autonomous adaptive features so that it can be useful to humans and not burden the user with unnecessary details and unneeded decisions.  The WSN should function as a decision and alarm aid to effectively extend the range and situation awareness of human users to distances impossible for human sensing and modalities not sensed by humans (e.g. ultrasound, IR).

Topics to be covered include:
- several aspects of self-organising and autonomous behaviour in WSN developed at Automation & Robotics Research Institute (ARRI), University of Texas (UTA), by Dan Popa and F L Lewis. The goal is a complete dynamical framework that allows fast programming of deployable WSN, and facilitates both computer simulation analysis and efficient on-line implementation
- novel methods for dynamic Adaptive Localisation, whereby a WSN self-configures on deployment to form a coordinate system for reference of events and targets subsequently perceived by the sensor network
- Adaptive Sampling, whereby the mobile nodes of the WSN are sent to the most useful locales to quickly estimate sensor fields such as temperatures, water contaminants and salinity, etc.
- a method of cross-layer navigation is detailed that allows achievement of goals, obstacle avoidance, battery conservation, and guaranteed communications under a common framework
- some issues about sensor placement and coverage, and WSN lifetimes
- a method for multi-static radar target tracking using Ultra-Wideband (UWB)
- the WSN Distributed Intelligence and Autonomy Lab (DIAL) at ARRI, giving some ideas for developing a complete WSN testbed
Many of the above ideas have actually been implemented on the DIAL WSN

Who Should Attend
R&D managers, researchers, engineers, lecturers and students

2.00 – 2.15 pm: Registration
2.15 – 3.45 pm: Lecture by Professor F L Lewis
3.45 – 4.00 pm: Refreshment
4.00 pm: End

About Professor F L Lewis
Professor Lewis was born in Würzburg, Germany and studied in Chile and Gordonstoun School in Scotland.  He obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Physics/Electrical Engineering and a Master's of Electrical Engineering Degree at Rice University in 1971.  He spent six years in the U S Navy, serving as Navigator aboard the frigate USS Trippe (FF-1075), and Executive Officer and Acting Commanding Officer aboard USS Salinan (ATF-161).  In 1977 he received the Master's of Science in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of West Florida.  In 1981 he obtained his PhD at The Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, where he was employed as a professor from 1981 to 1990 and is currently an Adjunct Professor.  He is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington, where he was awarded the Moncrief-O'Donnell Endowed Chair in 1990 at the Automation & Robotics Research Institute.  Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of IFAC, Fellow of the U.K. Institute of Measurement & Control, Member of the New York Academy of Sciences.  Registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas and Chartered Engineer, U.K. Engineering Council.  Charter Member (2004) of the UTA Academy of Distinguished Scholars and Senior Research Fellow of the Automation & Robotics Research Institute.  Founding Member of the Board of Governors of the Mediterranean Control Association.  Has served as Visiting Professor at Democritus University in Greece, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the National University of Singapore.  Elected Guest Consulting Professor at both Shanghai Jiao Tong University and South China University of Technology. 

Current interests include intelligent control, neural and fuzzy systems, wireless sensor networks, nonlinear systems, robotics, condition-based maintenance, micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) control, and manufacturing process control.  Author of 5 U S patents, 199 journal papers, 36 chapters and encyclopedia articles, 315 refereed conference papers, and 14 books including Optimal Control, Optimal Estimation, Applied Optimal Control and Estimation, Aircraft Control and Simulation, Control of Robot Manipulators, Neural Network Control, High-Level Feedback Control with Neural Networks and the IEEE reprint volume Robot Control.  Editor of Taylor & Francis Book Series on Automation & Control Engineering.  Served/serves on many Editorial Boards including International Journal of Control, Neural Computing and Applications, Optimal Control & Methods, and Int. J. Intelligent Control Systems.  Served as Editor for the flagship journal Automatica.  Recipient of NSF Research Initiation Grant and continuously funded by NSF since 1982.  Since 1991 he has received $7 million in funding from NSF, ARO and other government agencies, including significant DoD SBIR and industry funding.  His SBIR program was instrumental in ARRI’s receipt of the US SBA Tibbets Award in 1996.  Received Fulbright Research Award 1988, American Society of Engineering Education F.E. Terman Award 1989, Int. Neural Network Soc. Gabor Award 2008, three Sigma Xi Research Awards, UTA Halliburton Engineering Research Award, UTA Distinguished Research Award, ARRI Patent Awards, various Best Paper Awards, IEEE Control Systems Society Best Chapter Award (as Founding Chairman of DFW Chapter), and National Sigma Xi Award for Outstanding Chapter (as President of UTA Chapter).  Received Outstanding Service Award from the Dallas IEEE Section and selected as Engineer of the year by Ft. Worth IEEE Section.  Listed in Ft. Worth Business Press Top 200 Leaders in Manufacturing.  Appointed to NAE Committee on Space Station in 1995 and IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors in 1996.  Selected in 1998 as an IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer.

Pre-registration for this free lecture is necessary. Please register online by 11 May (Mon)