Grant Programme

A*STAR-NHG-NTU Skin Research Grant (SRG)


The A*STAR-NHG-NTU Skin Research Grant (SRG) is a collaboration between A*STAR, NTU and NHG. The main objective of the grant is to promote sharing of their technological research that would be applicable to understanding of skin biology as well as ideas and solutions to clinical problems. The aim is to open new frontiers in skin sciences research to innovate new technologies and products for better skin health. Through this grant, new knowledge and outcomes would be generated from the collaborative projects and impact the diagnosis and management of skin diseases affecting the Asian population.


Each application must be submitted by a Clinical Lead Principal Investigator from NHG/NTU and a non-Clinical Lead Principal Investigator from A*STAR/NTU. Other research team members can include co-investigators/collaborators from local/overseas institutions or private companies. A non-Clinical Lead Principal Investigator from A*STAR must be A*STAR Principal Investigators (BMRC and SERC). All other A*STAR researchers may be part of the research team as a co-investigator or collaborator.

A Clinical Lead Principal Investigator from NHG may be doctors, nurses or allied health personnel primarily employed under NHG institutions (NHG HQ, Tan Tock Seng Hospital, Institute of Mental Health, National Skin Centre, NHG Polyclinics).

A Clinical or non-Clinical Lead PI from NTU must be full-time faculty; Visiting Professors and Adjunct Professors will not be eligible. Teaching Fellows at NTU are eligible provided their appointment covers the period of the proposed research project.


The maximum amount of funding to be awarded for each successful application is dependent on the categories as follows:

First SRG Call (FY2014)

  • Level 1 Category:
    • Up to S$100,000 over 1 year
  • Level 2 Category:
    • Up to S$500,000 over 3 years

Second SRG Call (FY2016)

  • Up to S$250,000 over 2 years


Please click below for past grant call results:

FY2014 SRG Level 1 Awardees

FY2014 SRG Level 2 Awardees

FY2016 SRG Awardees