Board Changes at The Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)

The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced on 29 January 2021 board changes at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR).

Appointment of New Board Members (with effect from 1 February 2021)

Appointment of New Board Members

  • Mr Ashok Belani
    Executive Vice President
    Schlumberger New Energy
  • Mr Chia Song Hwee
    Deputy Chief Executive Officer
    Temasek International Pte. Ltd.
  • Professor Jackie Hunter
    Board Director
    Benevolent AI Ltd
  • Mr Soh Gim Teik
    Finix Corporate Advisory LLP

Re-appointment of Board Members

  • Professor Barry Halliwell
    Chairman, Biomedical Advisory Council, A*STAR
    Senior Advisor, Academic Appointments and Research Excellence,
    Office of the Senior Deputy President and Provost, Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Professor, National University of Singapore
  • Professor Sir John O’Reilly
    Chairman, Science and Engineering Advisory Council, A*STAR
    Chairman, NICC (Standards) Ltd
  • Professor Isaac Ben-Israel
    Chairman, Israel Space Agency
  • Professor Stefan Catsicas
    Managing Partner
    Skyviews Life Science SA
  • Professor William Chin
    Bertarelli Professor of Translational Medical Science and Medicine Emeritus, Harvard Medical School
    Executive Vice-President, Clinical & Translational Science, Frequency Therapeutics
  • Dr Benjamin Koh Khay Wee
    Deputy Secretary (Development)
    Ministry of Health
  • Professor Lily Kong
    Singapore Management University
  • Mr Quek Gim Pew
    Chief Defence Scientist
    Ministry of Defence
  • Mr Yee Ping Yi
    Deputy Secretary (Planning)
    Ministry of Finance

In Appreciation

The following A*STAR board members will be stepping down upon the completion of their term on 31 January 2021.

  • Professor Chong Tow Chong
    President and Acting Provost
    Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Mr Anton Sebastian Huber
    Former Chief Executive Officer
    Digital Factory Division, Siemens AG
  • Dr Omkaram Nalamasu
    Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Applied Materials
    President, Applied Ventures LLC
  • Professor Sir Keith O’Nions
    Chair, University of Nottingham, UK
    Chair, British Geological Survey, UK

MTI would like to thank all the outgoing Board Members for their contributions and welcome the new board members to A*STAR.

The write-ups of the new board members and the full list of board members can be found at the A*STAR Board page from 1 February onwards.

For the full press release, refer to the MTI press room.