President's Science and Technology Awards (PSTA) 2022

PSTA 2022

The President's Science and Technology Awards (PSTA) are the highest honours bestowed on exceptional research scientists and engineers in Singapore for their excellent achievements in science and technology. These national awards are given annually to recognise and celebrate outstanding and invaluable contributions by individuals or teams to the research and development landscape in Singapore.

2009 marked the first year that the President's Science & Technology Awards were presented. The awards, formerly known as the National Science & Technology Awards since 1987, were elevated to the status of the President's awards to highlight and give due recognition to the important role research scientists and engineers play in Singapore. The prestige of the President's awards underpins Singapore's efforts to raise the level of excellence in research and strengthen the growing community of scientific talent in Singapore.

The President's Science & Technology Awards is made up of three different awards, namely, the President's Science & Technology Medal (PSTM), the President's Science Award (PSA) and the President's Technology Award (PTA). The winners of the respective awards have been carefully chosen through a rigorous process by a selection committee comprising key representatives from the government, industry, academia and public research institutes.

Below are the PSTA winners for 2022. Nominate now for PSTA 2023.

President’s Science and Technology Medal (PSTM)

Professor Hong Wanjin

  • Executive Director, Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Agency for Science, Technology and Research
  • Professor, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore

President’s Technology Award (PTA)

Professor Wang Rong

  • President’s Chair in Civil and Environment Engineering, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore)
  • Director, Singapore Membrane Technology Centre (SMTC), Nanyang Environment & Water Research Institute (NEWRI), NTU Singapore
  • Co-Founder, H2MO Technology Pte. Ltd. and Aromatec Pte. Ltd.

PSTA 2022 Ceremony Highlights

Two individuals were conferred the President’s Science and Technology Awards (PSTA) by President Halimah Yacob at the awards ceremony held at the Istana on 9 December 2022.