Young Scientist Awards

YSA Mast banner

The Young Scientist Awards (YSA) recognises young researchers, aged 35 years and below, who are actively engaged in R&D in Singapore, and who have shown great potential to be world-class researchers in their fields of expertise. This award is administered by the Singapore National Academy of Science (SNAS) and supported by the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR).

There are two categories of Awards, namely:

  1. Biological and Biomedical Sciences; and
  2. Physical, Information and Engineering Sciences.

Below are the YSA winners for 2020.

Physical, Information & Engineering Sciences

Dr John Ho

Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, NUS

Principal Investigator, Institute for Health

Biological & Biomedical Sciences

Dr Tan Si Hui

Director, Biology, Cargene Therapeutics
(With A*STAR till Oct 2020)

Dr Chew Wei Leong

Senior Research Scientist, Genome Institute of Singapore, A*STAR

YSA 2020 Ceremony Highlights

Three outstanding young individuals received the Young Scientist Award this year.