I²R Corporate

Dr Sumei Sun is the Executive Director of the Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R), A*STAR, Singapore. She is also holding a joint appointment with the Singapore Institute of Technology, and an adjunct appointment with the National University of Singapore, both as a full professor. Her current research interests are in next-generation wireless communications, cognitive communications and networks, industrial internet of things, communications-computing-control integrative design, joint radar-communication systems, and signal intelligence. 

Sumei has a strong passion in industry-relevant research and technology creation. She has authored and co-authored 300 technical papers and received three best paper awards. She is the inventor/co-inventor of over thirty patented technologies, with most of them licensed to industries. 

She has served as the Wireless Systems Work Group Chair of the IMDA’s Telecommunications Standard Advisory Committee (TSAC) during 2015-2018, and member of the TSAC since 2018. During 2017-2018, she served in the Advisory Panel for preparing The Singapore Smart Industry Readiness Index (SIRI) white paper championed by the Economic Development Board (EDB). In 2018, she served as Chairperson of the Services and Digital Economy (SDE) Technology Roadmap Work Group 1 (Future Communications and IoT) and member of the SDE Technology Roadmap Technical Committee, for transforming the future of digital services. The SDE Technology Roadmap development was championed by IMDA, in partnership with NRF and A*STAR. Since 2021, she’s been chairing the Special 5G Strategy Task Force under IMDA’s Telecommunications Standards Advisory Committee (TSAC).
Sumei has been an active volunteer in IEEE and is the inaugural Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Open Journal of Vehicular Technology, member of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications Steering Committee, and a Distinguished Speaker of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society 2018-2024. She is also the Director of IEEE Communications Society Asia Pacific Board and an elected member at large with the IEEE Communications Society.