NMC Representing Singapore in the Asia-Pacific Metrology Programme

Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP) is a grouping of national metrology institutes (NMIs) from the Asia-Pacific region engaged in improving regional metrological capability through the sharing of expertise and exchange of technical services among Member laboratories. The APMP is one of the 6 Regional Metrology Organisations (RMOs) to implement of the CIPM MRA, a global metrology mutual recognition arrangement for the worldwide mutual recognition of measurement standards and of calibration and measurement certificates under the Metre Convention.

NMC was first elected to the Executive Committee in 1999 and subsequently 2004, 2007 and 2013, and chaired the APMP in 2002. NMC was the appointed the inaugural Chairman of the Technical Committee on Electricity and Magnetism (TCEM) in 1999. Subsequently, NMC chaired the Technical Committee on Photometry and Radiometry (TCPR) in 2003, Technical Committee on Length (TCL) in 2007, Technical Committee on Mass and Related Quantities (TCM) and Technical Committee on Thermometry (TCT) in 2015, TCEM and Focus Group on Climate Change and Clean Air (CCCAFG) in 2022.

2018 APMP General Assembly Dinner
In Photo: NMC contingent at the APMP 2018 official dinner

In 2003 and 2018 (co-organised with Health Sciences Authority), the National Metrology Centre (NMC) hosted the Asia-Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP) General Assembly related meetings. The event underscored NMC's commitment to foster international partnerships in the field of metrology in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond. Throughout the event, NMC played a central role in coordinating and facilitating the exchange of knowledge, promoting international collaborations, and ensuring the smooth execution of APMP programmes and projects.